Weigh in day!!!!

I took third out of three, dead last…. I lost….. but hold on there skippy, did I really lose? Hell no! Here’s why…..

I started this competition in January at 360lbs (and a little before that I was 365) and ended the first leg of it at 324.8 lbs. 36lbs and 9.98%. Most of that was after I got serious about it in APRIL. I lost 12ish pounds from January to April and then in April I had the drive and desire to go Keto, and that is when the weight started to come off. We ended that one late May and then we had our celebration dinner in SF at the house of prime rib, then we had some vacations. I normally gain a lot of weight on vacation, but I didn’t; I maintained. Huge win for me. When we weighed back in for challenge 2.0, I was 2.8 lbs lighter than the end of 1.0, another win. I am now 288, which is the lightest I have been in a LONG time! I am 72.8 lbs lighter than I was the start of our challenges and with the 5lbs that I lost before the first weigh in I have lost 77.8 lbs total from my biggest. WIN

I also have lost quite a few inches. 5″ from my chest, 8.5″ off my hips and 6″ off my waist. I have lowered my blood pressure (still on a pill for now, but that will come to an end soon) and my lipid panels were great! So WIN WIN!!!!

Here are the things that can’t be measured in a weight loss challenge; I feel better than I think I ever have. Yes the weight loss helps, but healing myself from the inside has a lot of unseen and immeasurable benefits! My joints don’t hurt like they did before, I have way more energy, sleep better, sleep less actually, no more snoring, better focus, (sorry) poop less and I CAN ACTUALLY FIT IN A BOOTH NOW…….

With all that said, I am not done and this is not over for me. I am no longer going to worry about the scale, I am no longer trying to beat someone; but I am in a challenge for a better, more healthy life and that is going to be a life long challenge and as of right now, I got this!

Last challenge after it was over I rewarded myself with a lunch at In-N-Out, got myself a double double animal style with some animal style fries. Did not eat it all but I felt like roadkill the rest of the day. Today I am celebrating with a diet cherry pepsi that tastes TOO sweet! I did have a farmhand bowl from Farmer Boys for breakfast to break a 2 day fast, which has 45grams of carbs, but I will be low to no carb the rest of the day anyway so no harm no foul.

This is now my new normal, this is the way I eat and I enjoy it and won’t go back, I truly feel that. I may eat something shitty from time to time (Pizza My Heart anyone) but that will be few and far between. I remember the days that I would watch the biggest looser and think that I needed to do something like that, you know; bust your ass for a couple of months, lose a crap ton of weight and be good, but over time I did notice that a large percentage of those participants gained their weight back. This WON’T happen here, I know it.

Anyway, enough rambling, just wanted to share. Oh, also I have some friends that have been inquiring about this stuff so the next blog will be a kind of guide with where and how I started. Links to videos and youtube channels that helped me along the way and continue to help me. The challenge is over bu the journey is just underway, and I have plenty of room in the car if anyone wants to jump in and join me for the ride.

Here we go!

2 thoughts on “Weigh in day!!!!

  1. Pam Ellis December 22, 2018 / 1:21 am

    OMG Shawn. I am so proud of you. I know how hard this must of been for you. I joined weight watchers due to eating like my grandkids and stArted packing on the pounds. I received my 5 lb weight Cham today. I had a hard time getting those pounds off, so I can only imagine what it was for you. Just so so proud of you. Keep up the great work. Big hug to you.

    Like

  2. Kathy Wood December 22, 2018 / 6:05 pm

    Dad & I are very proud of you son. I have always struggled with my weight, never ate correctly. Hang in there with this struggle. Love you, mom.

    Like

Leave a comment